Mental Health Awareness Week – depression

sitting-in-darkness

I am lying on my bed
staring at the ceiling
no feelings
dead inside

I know I ought to go out
buy food
and so I get dressed

leave my bedroom
take my jacket, my purse, go to the front door
the door that shields me from the outside world

I stand before it
looking at it

and there is a wall
an invisible wall
I can’t go through it
I stand there, but can’t open the door
I just can’t

so I turn around
and go back to my room
take off my clothes
and lie back down again
in my bed, my shelter

eventually I will get so hungry that I NEED to go out
and then I will do so
but right now my hunger is too small, too weak,
to get me through that wall
so I wait

That was 16 years ago
if you haven’t been there, you might not ever understand


©AngelikaJahn 2013

image:google

About blue

I am a divorced single mum to a teenage kid, and at present re-emigrating to my homecountry Germany. Writing helps me to clear my thoughts, but as well to turn sadness, fear, and regret into something beautiful and release it from my heart.
This entry was posted in All Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are most welcome

