I am not much more heartbroken than usual

I am not much more heartbroken than usual
That’s not why I’m more quiet

This is not a poem

I am busy these days, moving
Moving my belongings and my life not only to a new city,
But across national borders and a sea.

These little birds that usually fly around my head,
And whisper their poems into my ears,
Are annoyed by me

Annoyed by me running, and packing and planning,
And so they did sit down on the branches of the cherry tree,
That is so much better company these days than I am,
And wait
They relax, enjoy the scent of the blossoms,
And wait for me to return to a more poetic mindset.

And maybe this is a poem after all…


Β© AngelikaJahn 2012

About blue

I am a divorced single mum to a teenage kid, and at present re-emigrating to my homecountry Germany. Writing helps me to clear my thoughts, but as well to turn sadness, fear, and regret into something beautiful and release it from my heart.
This entry was posted in All Poems, Uncategorizeable and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am not much more heartbroken than usual

  1. Let the birds rest – for when you have done they will be there in little flocks, singing beautiful harmonies to you once more πŸ™‚

    • blue says:

      *sending a kiss* πŸ™‚

      I do miss them at times.. but thankfully they do not evade me totally…

      • They will be back!! (Oh gosh that makes them sound like Arnold Schwartzneger birds!!)
        *kiss*

        • blue says:

          *laughing* Good morning Alex, πŸ™‚
          (In the second movie he was reprogrammed and nice -so THAT I can live with..)

          • You wait – soon they will be like flocks of starlings doing beautiful formations all over your page πŸ™‚
            (oh – I re-read that and it sounds…. I mean the starlings are a metaphor for the words – not bird droppings on your page… i think I’d better stop!!)
            xx

            • blue says:

              Alex.. *laughing* ..
              Do starlings fly in formations ? I thought only geese did -but a goose is not as poetic as a starling.. πŸ™‚

              • Oh yes starlings do beautiful formations. When my son was about 3 or 4 he used to say they were having a disco in the sky. They are amazing to watch. We have a tree at the back of our house where they all used to gather (they were sooooo noisy) then in an instant they were off and the silence was immediate!

Comments are most welcome

