About writing poetry

Some poems are like clay
I can mould them
Look at them
Mould them again
Until I’m happy with them

Some other poems are like marble
I can carve them
And turn them into a statue
But once I’m finished they are just the way they are
I can not change them anymore
They are just like they are and stay that way
And I can take them or discard them
But never change

And there is a third kind
These that land on my shoulder like little birds
And whisper themselves into my ear
I only need to write them down, that’s all
These are usually about my beloved


© AngelikaJahn 2012

About blue

I am a divorced single mum to a teenage kid, and at present re-emigrating to my homecountry Germany. Writing helps me to clear my thoughts, but as well to turn sadness, fear, and regret into something beautiful and release it from my heart.
This entry was posted in All Poems, Thoughts, Uncategorizeable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About writing poetry

  1. Oh that is beautiful and so true!
    I wonder where some of mine come from, and then others take months to evolve 🙂

    • blue says:

      Thank You !

      I do wonder at times too.

      I like your poems, they are not solely about a broken heart.. 😉 like most of mine.

      • Haha mine are more about death, doom, death and more death :/ hehe!
        Your poems are exquisite 🙂

        • blue says:

          Your poems are great, and have a wide variety -and this sweet one about the tedddy-bear is one I could not have written -no heartbreak. 😉

          I very much thank you for your kind words. I am truly honoured that you like my poetry.

          • Well it did have a sad end in real life – my dog did rip of poor teddy’s head and shook the stuffing all around my bedroom! Poor Teddy 😦

Comments are most welcome

