Standing by the shore

27.o1.2012

I did stand by the shores of the sea and looked out for Him, waiting for His return, all summer.
Others came by and told me I was stupid, told me He would not return to me, too long had been the time.

Would He love me, He would not have left me they said.
But I waited, I believed in His words.

All His words had always been true, I could always count on Him.
He had said that He would return to me at the end of the summer, and I did believe.

The end of the summer came, but He did not, no sign, no message.
I sent a little bird out, to fly to the faraway shores, to look for my Love.

And the bird returned with a message from my beloved One.
He was not coming.

Not now, maybe never, He didn’t really know.
The whole summer I had stood by the ocean to wait for Him.

I had neglected my house, I had neglected my garden.
I had believed in His promise to return to me.

I returned to my village to find the roof of my house broken in and destroyed, my garden overgrown with weeds.
No shelter I could find, no food had grown in my garden.

And now the winter comes, with storms and cold, and I have no home, no place to rest my head.
The winter comes without mercy, and I have no choice than to submit myself to its cold and its storms, without food, without shelter.

I can only pray to survive this Winter.
And I of course have been a fool.

_
©AngelikaJahn

About blue

I am a divorced single mum to a teenage kid, and at present re-emigrating to my homecountry Germany. Writing helps me to clear my thoughts, but as well to turn sadness, fear, and regret into something beautiful and release it from my heart.
This entry was posted in All Poems, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are most welcome

